What Religion is Dalai Lama? Exploring the Faith and Philosophy

The Dalai Lama is a figure of immense spiritual and cultural significance, but not everyone knows the intricacies of his religion and the beliefs he represents. This article will delve deep into the religion of the Dalai Lama, covering its history, core beliefs, practices, and the current spiritual leader himself. By the end, you’ll have a comprehensive understanding of Tibetan Buddhism, the role of the Dalai Lama, and how this ancient faith continues to impact the world today.

Introduction to the Dalai Lama

The title “Dalai Lama” is synonymous with the spiritual leadership of Tibetan Buddhism. The current Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso, is the 14th in a line that stretches back to the 14th century. Known globally for his teachings on compassion, non-violence, and human rights, the Dalai Lama is both a religious and political figure. To fully understand his influence, we must first explore the religion he leads.

The Religion of the Dalai Lama: Tibetan Buddhism

History and Origins

Tibetan Buddhism, also known as Lamaism, is a unique form of Buddhism that emerged in Tibet around the 7th century CE. It combines the teachings of Mahayana Buddhism with the esoteric practices of Vajrayana, alongside indigenous Tibetan elements.

PeriodKey Events
7th CenturyBuddhism introduced to Tibet
8th CenturyEstablishment of the first monastery
13th CenturyFormation of the Kagyu and Sakya schools
14th CenturyRise of the Gelug school and the Dalai Lama tradition

Core Beliefs and Practices

Tibetan Buddhism emphasizes the path to enlightenment through a combination of study, meditation, and ethical living. The core beliefs include:

  • Karma: The principle of cause and effect.
  • Reincarnation: The cycle of birth, death, and rebirth.
  • Bodhisattvas: Enlightened beings who help others achieve enlightenment.

The Role of the Dalai Lama in Tibetan Buddhism

Historical Significance

The Dalai Lama is considered an incarnation of Avalokiteshvara, the Bodhisattva of Compassion. This belief roots the Dalai Lama’s authority in divine selection, ensuring a lineage of spiritual leaders dedicated to the well-being of all sentient beings.

Dalai LamaReignKey Contributions
1st Dalai Lama1391-1474Founded the Gelug school
5th Dalai Lama1617-1682Established political rule in Tibet
14th Dalai Lama1935-presentGlobal ambassador for peace and non-violence

The Current Dalai Lama: Tenzin Gyatso

Born in 1935, Tenzin Gyatso was recognized as the reincarnation of the 13th Dalai Lama at the age of two. He has since become a global icon, advocating for Tibetan autonomy, human rights, and interfaith dialogue.

Key Concepts in Tibetan Buddhism

The Four Noble Truths

  1. The Truth of Suffering (Dukkha): Life contains inevitable, unavoidable suffering.
  2. The Truth of the Cause of Suffering (Samudaya): Desire and attachment cause suffering.
  3. The Truth of the End of Suffering (Nirodha): It is possible to end suffering.
  4. The Truth of the Path to the End of Suffering (Magga): The Eightfold Path leads to the end of suffering.

The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path outlines the steps toward enlightenment:

Right UnderstandingUnderstanding the nature of reality and the path of transformation
Right ThoughtCommitment to ethical and mental self-improvement
Right SpeechSpeaking truthfully and harmoniously
Right ActionActing in non-harmful ways
Right LivelihoodEarning a living in a righteous way
Right EffortCultivating positive states of mind
Right MindfulnessDeveloping awareness in the present moment
Right ConcentrationPracticing deep meditation

Rituals and Practices


Meditation is central to Tibetan Buddhism, with various forms practiced, including:

  • Shamatha: Calm-abiding meditation to stabilize the mind.
  • Vipassana: Insight meditation for deeper understanding of reality.
  • Lojong: Mind training practices focusing on developing compassion.

Prayer Flags and Wheels

Prayer flags and wheels are iconic symbols of Tibetan Buddhism, used to spread blessings and positive energy.

Prayer FlagsCarry prayers and mantras on the wind
Prayer WheelsRotate to release spiritual energy

Tibetan Buddhism in the Modern World

Tibetan Buddhism has spread worldwide, influencing many with its teachings of peace and compassion. The Dalai Lama’s travels and writings have been instrumental in this, promoting interfaith understanding and universal responsibility.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the main religion of the Dalai Lama?

The Dalai Lama practices Tibetan Buddhism, specifically the Gelug school.

Is the Dalai Lama considered a god?

No, the Dalai Lama is considered a high-ranking monk and the reincarnation of Avalokiteshvara, but not a god.

How is the Dalai Lama chosen?

The Dalai Lama is believed to be reincarnated. After the death of a Dalai Lama, senior monks search for a child showing signs of the previous Dalai Lama’s reincarnation.

What are the main teachings of the Dalai Lama?

The Dalai Lama teaches compassion, non-violence, and the pursuit of inner peace and happiness through ethical living and mindfulness.

How does the Dalai Lama contribute to global peace?

Through his speeches, writings, and interfaith dialogues, the Dalai Lama promotes non-violence, compassion, and human rights, advocating for peaceful solutions to conflicts.


The Dalai Lama’s religion, Tibetan Buddhism, is rich with history, deep philosophical teachings, and unique practices. From the Four Noble Truths to the rituals of meditation and prayer, Tibetan Buddhism offers a path to enlightenment that emphasizes compassion, wisdom, and ethical living. The Dalai Lama himself is a testament to these teachings, spreading a message of peace and understanding in an increasingly complex world.


  • Powers, John. “Introduction to Tibetan Buddhism.” Snow Lion Publications, 2007.
  • Dalai Lama. “The Art of Happiness.” Riverhead Books, 1998.
  • Goldstein, Melvyn C. “A History of Modern Tibet, Volume 2.” University of California Press, 2007.
  • “Tibetan Buddhism: Its Origin and Development.” The Office of His Holiness the Dalai Lama, dalailama.com.
  • “The Four Noble Truths.” BBC Religion, bbc.co.uk.

Leave a Comment